Dame Howell's School
Mayor Aitken Drive, in City Park
Bridgeton, NJ 08302
Owned and maintained by the City of Bridgeton, but is in the care of the Bridgeton Antiquarian League.
Circa 1830-50. Originally stood on Pine Street in the path of an urban renewal project. Through the support of Mrs. Alma Zipperlein Lore, structure was moved to the park in 1975 for restoration and preservation.
Mrs. Lore, a retired Bridgeton educator, realized the historical importance of this type of educational institution in the development of our society and made the project possible as a Bicentennial gift to the city. This type of private school was run by an educated woman, a "dame", and was similar in nature to an advanced 'kindergarten'. Boy's and girls attended a dame school for a few pennies a week to learn the fundamentals of reading, spelling, and the bible. Probably the first dame school in the United States was founded at (cc Waburn, Mass. in 1673. The first constitutional mention of public school - was in 1844.
One of Bridgeton's smallest historic sites - yet one of the most unique. c 1830-50. Wood frame structure.